Reading graffiti about slash seat affairs

I’ve gone mixed mode again after last week’s success.  This time I carried bike for 2 minutes walk and caught a 137 from Bury Old Road. Despite other people moaning at the bus stop about an earlier one not arriving my bus was on time.  I got off it to catch a 51A on Great Cheetham St which was supposed to come 5 mins later but this morning I had to wait over 15. Might still make it to my desk for 7:30 if Trafford Road is quiet. At least it’s dry inside the bus.

PS I tried to be clever and blog on the bus but created a new page instead of a new post. 

PPS I did arrive at my desk a few minutes before 7:30, so door to desk the 137/51A combination could give me a sub 50 minute journey to the office

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading graffiti about slash seat affairs

  1. Darrell says:

    Nigel

    Not sure I understand the title of the post but it sounds great.

    Glad the mixed mode commute is going well. How long does it take cycling all the way?

    Love the new blog look – much cleaner.

    Catch you on the streets soon!

    Darrell

    • holmesinho says:

      Thanks Darrell, the title is a reference to lyrics in The Jam’s “That’s entertainment” with the preceeding line being “….travelling on buses”. Bus in is much slower than bike alone but provides a lazy day alternative. 50 minutes vs 23 this morning. I could have cycled in place of the second bus ride yesterday to speed it up but it was raining and dark. Rode about 4k towards home to pick up a single bus and returned in just over 40 minutes (would be about 30 by bike only). 2 buses home would take me 80 minutes according to the GM bus trip planner so by carrying the extra 13kg around with me I saved a bit of time and got a short enjoyable blast towards home (as well as the weightlifting workout!).

Leave a comment