Verdict on today’s mixed mode experiment

It took me 55 minutes to travel in, the ride down to the bus stop to catch the 98 on Bury New Road didn’t really save me any time and next week I might carry the bike 2 minutes to Bury Old Road rather than coasting downhill.  I enjoyed the 3.5k through Salford as I was going in the opposite direction to the Manchester-bound traffic and had the energy to overtake a cheap MTB as I gunned along Ordsall lane in top gear.  I fumbled to pack the bike up into the carrying bag at work because I hadn’t orientated it correctly but still arrived at my desk a few minutes before 7:30.  I should get slicker at the unpacking and packing and hope to do each in under 1 and 2 minutes respectively.

The journey home went well apart from finding I’d only been sold a single ticket in the morning.  £4.10 for a day saver doesn’t provide much value when you are doing a simple return journey but it’s far more pleasant than the over-crowded tram as well as being a little cheaper.  On the return, I rode 3.8k mostly downhill, to a bus stop on Great Clowes St and was pleased that I took a 137 along Bury Old Road rather than a 98 back along the New Road.

I was home in 50 minutes including a 10 minute wait for the bus, so hopefully can trim the journeys to 45 minutes each way, which compares favourably with the results from my commuting experiment of a couple of years ago.

The bike generated a lot of interest in the office.  I also took some stick for it.  It did look like a gimick but I hope to commute multi-mode once a week through the winter when it’s dry.  There should also be some opportunities for adventures further a field too.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Verdict on today’s mixed mode experiment

  1. Pingback: Show us a bit of wheel darlin’ | 4 wheels good, 2 wheels better

Leave a Reply

