Bike for sale, 2 careful owners

Wiggo's Postbox

Wiggo’s Postbox

I’ve recently bought a Trek 7.4 hybrid through the work’s Cyclescheme to replace my default get-to-work-cycling-hack known as The Mighty Saracen. The Saracen isn’t broken but is due its winter service and although I don’t begrudge the amount of money I have spent to keep it roadworthy over the years, these costs have probably come close to 10 times what I paid for it.  I didn’t pay much for it though.

The initial pimping of the steed to suit my style: kickstand, honky horn and SPD pedals instantly doubled its value.  Then over the years its wheels and tyres have been upgraded, the groupset, crank, crankarms and a gear shifter have all been replaced as well as chains and usual consumables. Oh yes and the saddle had to be replaced too.  Not exactly Trigger’s Broom but it feels like the majority of the bike is no longer as was purchased in Doncaster and it has gradually evolved into a more Lancastrian bike 😉

JP, A former colleague at Sage had sold his 5 year old bike on to me for just £40. I’d had my previous regular commuting Trek 7.3 stolen and after swapping to my mountain bike I’d picked up a puncture within a couple of weeks. The primitive crud catchers were not keeping enough of the Greater Mancunian rain and oil off my clothes so I was faced with spending £45 on a pair of Schwalbe Marathon tyres plus the cost of upgrading the mudguarding system.  JPs attractive offer bought me some time to save up for a new bike, this seems to have taken me 4 years.

I have tried not to become attached to the bike as I had been hurt by emotional attachment to a previous bike before she was snatched away from me (and never found on that occassion). Up until that point my bikes had been female but I have determinedly referred to the Saracen as an ‘it’ even after adding the image of the very male former Gladiator to its frame. It’s been more than just a commuting bike and we’ve conquered Cragg Vale together as well as going on a couple of epic 100 mile rides to the seaside and back. These were a couple of the Ian Hoggarth memorial rides that I’d completed with colleagues from work. As we were riding to Southport along the Trans Peninne Trail I couldn’t take the roadbike so the Saracen was the best solution my fleet could offer me.

Though both JP and I have had a few thrills and spills in our cycling times I don’t think either of us has been knocked off whilst riding the Saracen so you could regard it as a lucky bike. The bike owes me nothing so I’m open to any offers; I’ll match the price and donate the money to Cardiac Risk in the Young in Ian’s memory so here’s the sales pitch:

10 year old Saracen Venturer 2 to suit 5’5 – 5’9 gent

Schwalbe Marathon tyres, pannier rack and kick-stand for the man about town

Front suspension and 24 speed Shimano Altus

2 careful owners, serviced regularly, a bit scuffed but in good working order.

Make me an offer!

Saracen

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Bike for sale, 2 careful owners

  1. holmesinho says:

    Bike has been sold and has moved on to Levenshulme.

Leave a comment