Vous pouvez même visiter Rochdale!

Image

If you were a child of the 80s who lived in Greater Manchester and listened to lots and lots of local commercial radio (particularly when you should have been focusing a bit harder on your homework) then you would have been aware of how hard Andy Kershaw worked to sell the benefits of GM Transport’s weekly bus passes to 16 -18 year olds, coupled with the possibility of them then going on to visit his beloved home-town.

I don’t go to Rochdale very often although I once memorably bought an olive green double breasted suit there around the time of my 21st birthday (no it wasn’t fashionable then either). In recent years bike rides have taken me around the outskirts of the town and I particularly enjoy the descent from Owd Betts through Norden though I turn right to ride past Spotland before hitting the town centre.

Yesterday as we approached Rochdale in the car from the M627 I was amazed to see that the Tour De France would be passing through on July 6th. I don’t follow the tour that closely, I’ll pick up bits of the highlights but mostly because people presume I will know what’s going on and I don’t want to appear completely clueless. It must be one of the greatest endurance events there is on the planet and what those guys do is astonishing. It would be rude not to pop along to at least catch a fleeting glance of it this summer as it passes within 10 miles of my house.

I can just imagine our Andy getting excited by a cover of this German synth pop classic performed on an a West African Kora.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Local travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

