I’m gonna live forever

Legwarmers

“Baby look at me, and tell me what do you see?”

You don’t need to answer that, I know I look a bit of a knobber but there’s good reason I assure you.

I’ve been likened to an extra from Fame in recent days (again this morning – thanks Hendo) but my striking electric blue and neon orange outfit has a purpose:

I don’t expect to live forever but I do want to increase my life expectancy by being as visible as possible along my daily commute.  Thankfully the dark mornings and evening are mostly behind me for the next 6 months (Happy vernal equinox BTW) and one common observation made of my fellow cycling brethren is that they don’t do themselves any favours by cycling around in stealth mode.

I cannot be accused of that.

In addition to my orange GMCC cycle gillet I have started buying bits of orange to ‘tone’ with my new orange Fuji Declaration but it’s beginning to look dull against my vivid cycling wardrobe.

Sadly there’s only so much you can do and I got Smidsy’d at the mini roundabout around the corner from my house a couple of months ago despite having lights on and wearing a luminous yellow jacket. The driver was cool though. Although we collided, he didn’t knock me to the ground and I still went ape at him (without swearing). He said all the right things to pacify me and ensure I was unhurt and in a fit mental state to start riding again.

So I might look even sillier than previously but I think it reduces my chances of not being seen.

 

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

