Perspective

Congratulations to Alistair and Jonny Brownlee on their gold and bronze Olympic triathlon medals.  Both were favourite to medal but let’s not forget those are our first ever Olympic Triathlon medals and Alistair has come back from a torn achilles tendon earlier this year.  Jonny was absolutely spent after crossing the finish line and I think of all the events it’s the one which demonstrates the ultimate mix of endurance and intensity.

I’m looking forward to having a crack at a full distance Triathlon at the start of October having only done a couple of sprint distance events to date.  So inspired by the Brownlee’s efforts and with both weather and time on my side for once, I was able to get out on the road bike for the first ride and run brick session of the year.  The cycling was comfortable and steady around my usual quiet 20k circuit.  I had to stop at a couple of extra sets of lights than I might at the weekend but went into my garage transition zone thinking I had left enough in my legs.  They didn’t feel too alien as they started to go up an down but were heavy and unresponsive and although I tried to push I couldn’t lift my pace to where I wanted or expected it to be.

I’m running faster than ever at the moment but to put Alistair Brownlee’s multi-discipline efforts into perspective; I cycled and ran half the distance Alistair did and my 5k time was 4 minutes off my personal best whilst his 10k time yesterday was about 90 seconds off that of Mo Farah’s Olympic Gold time…. and he strolled across the finish line too.  Amazing.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

