Irwell Valley #cyclinginprestwich

Inspired by a local Tweeting cyclist, I mapped out a couple of cycling routes this morning around the Irwell Valley in Prestwich.  Although I love cycling, I really need to run, so since I wasn’t going far afield the mapping could be combined with my weekly off road run.

I ran a lap of the signposted mountain bike track in the valley and note that the trace is going the wrong way around the circuit, I did this deliberately so that I would be able to see any approaching cyclist and they would certainly see me too as I was wearing hi-viz shirt, gloves and trainers.  As it turned out I didn’t meet anyone.

After the 3k circuit I followed the Sustrans National Cycle Network route 6 to the car park at the bottom of Rainsough Brow then ran back to the M60 along a well defined riverside track.  There was a steep climb up to the footbridge over the motorway at which point I headed back to the starting point on NCN route 6 again.

There are loads of other paths and now that the area is maintained by Red Rose Forest it is much improved for cyclists.  Go check it out for a bit of relaxed traffic free Prestwich cycling.  Full Garmin trace of the route here.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Irwell Valley #cyclinginprestwich

  1. Grant says:

    I also enjoy cycling near Prestwich, the park and around the Irwell Valley is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle!

Leave a Reply

