Drive to work? Never again!

Well not for a while at least.  I took the car into the office for the first time in many months as I had a guitar to transport in.  The journey in was ok although I hadn’t allowed the 10 minutes it would take to park my car.  Our landlord, Exchange Quay Management is changing the lighting in one of the car parks so we have all be assigned temporary spaces in the other one for the next few months.  Naturally the temporary spaces are less convenient and I found the space that I share with Michele on the roof, seven stores up.  The car park is a nightmare to navigate with long runs between ramps, very tight corners (which me and the Mondeo struggle with) and obtrusive pillars compromising most of the spaces.  At least there were no pillars to worry about on the roof.  As part of my CSR role I should be encouraging people out of cars into other forms of transport and this significant challenge was increased by our Landlord allocating Sage dozens of extra spaces last year (Citibank and other tenants have left the site).  When I joined I had to wait 18 months before I got a parking space now there is no list.  So I’m secretly glad that the carpark is more than a bit of a kerfuffle.

The journey home was a nightmare and I’d like to blame it all on the Conservatives.  Trafford Road was grid-locked heading out towards the M602 so I headed down Bridgewater way and on to the Trinity Way ring road.  The Tory conference and the necessary ‘ring of steel’ and road closures must have contributed something to my hardship.  I wish all the party conferences were still held at the seaside.  Whilst having the Tories in town will give a much needed boost to our city’s bars and resturants, there is the extra cost of policing and I feel that if they boosted the economies of some of our out-of-season seaside resorts then less protesters and potential idiots would bother them.

It wasn’t just the edge of the city centre that was bad, I had heavy traffic all the way home so took me just under an hour rather than about half that time when cycling.  Back on the bike today, watch the stresses of commuting just melt away (?)

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drive to work? Never again!

  1. Jonathan says:

    Just last week I noticed the traffic queuing on the M60 whilst the enlightened ones were happily cycling along the towpath underneath.
    It would have made for a great picture but the sun’s angle didn’t agree with my mobile’s camera.
    I appreciate it might not look quite so enlightened on a windy day like today, but I bet the cyclists are still less stressed than the drivers, and won’t be needing any gym memberships either.

    If you still need to de-stress from yesterday I suggest watching this excellent new video from tRBoK&C, featuring a catchy tune and a happy cyclist:
    http://www.bikeminded.org/routes/film/

Leave a Reply

