Hungry

I travelled along NCN route 6 this evening to avoid traffic lights and indeed got all the way 10km home through the cities and boroughs of Salford and Bury without a single red light.  This is a very special occurance and is probably due to the whole of the chinese nation simultaneously jumping, the alignment of the planets or maybe just the summer solstice.  I hardly ever catch the first 3 green lights together as each crosses a major road but deciding not to push my luck I headed back the rest of the way via a longer but traffic light lite route taking in Littleton Road, Drinkwater Park and Clifton Road.

As I turned onto Meadow Lane, close to Salford University I saw a small lad fall off his bike.  He wasn’t travelling at speed but misjudged a kerb and fell sideways with the bike falling on top of him.  I guess he was about 6 years old and looked far more capable and bicycly advanced than either of my two but as I cycled past him in a bloodless and tearless heap I asked if he was okay.  He didn’t reply but as he was a bit slow to get to his feet I thought I’d stop to check he wasn’t hurt.  He pointed to a bloodless scuff on his palm and if that was his biggest injury then he was just fine but I watched him stand up and asked if his legs were okay and he grunted a yes.  I wasn’t expecting thanks from him and didn’t want to linger too long and attract the wrong sort of attention but as I was about to set off he seemed to be looking steadily at my pannier and piped up “excuse me Mister, have you got any food?”

Cheeky Monkey!

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Local travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

