Tired

A few months ago exercise was like a drug and I couldn’t get enough but I’ve lost my way recently.  I’m still cycle commuting but I constantly feel tired and can’t be bothered to do regular running.  I forced myself to do a good steady 5k on Sunday morning but there was still a disappointing ache in my legs this evening.  I clearly need to do stretches as a matter of course.  I put myself in trouble a couple of weeks ago doing a slow 21k trot around Prestwich and Whitefield that left me with back ache for a few days.  I was wearing brand new Brooks Ravenna 2 trainers (no blisters!) but to be honest my back felt tight as I set off.  The days of streaking are well past.  I did run over 100 consecutive days doing 3k or more from the start of the year but I deliberately broke the streak before illness or injury could stop me and since April I’ve not done more than 5 days in a row.  I dropped back to a 2k early morning run to make my commitment more attainable but bizarrely as the mornings have got lighter I have been less inclined to wake in good time to run before cycling to work.  My diet at work has been poor too.

I took my trainers on holiday to Spain last week but only used them once with a bit of a run along the beach.  Without the burden of a daily commute I should have found the time and energy, and there was never an excess of alcohol to prevent me but nevertheless I hadn’t the inclination to do very much.  We did embark on an adventure upon one of those 4 wheeled cycle things, transporting the kids along the prom to the harbour at Rocqetas de Mar, but even then an unusual amount of sensibleness overcame me and we didn’t go a distance we could easily return from within the 3 hour hire period (and I grudgingly allowed joggers to overtake us too).

I think I need to focus on 5k and get along to the Parkruns again.  I’ve only run 3 so far but haven’t ‘enjoyed’ one yet as I put pressure on myself to top previous bests.  I think I need to run a nice even one next Saturday and then work out how to get back towards my best in the next few weeks.  I’ll try to get out tomorrow morning but I’m not promising myself anything.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

