Final weigh in

My Oulton Park duathlon is tomorrow and I’m ready for it.  Just like Ricky I’m partial to a glass of stout and the odd kebab, but another similarlity I’m more proud of is that I could now meet him in his welterweight division (if he was still interested).  It’s only in the last few days that this has happened and whilst Ricky is famous for gaining and shedding 30 to 40lbs between bouts I have just lost 8lbs since Christmas. 

The first 5 fell off in a month through the daily running in addition to cycle commuting 3 or 4 days a week.  The rest has been a bit more stubborn.

I’m not a heavy drinker but can fall into frequent drinking patterns with 4 nights a week not being unusual.  I’ve been dry now for 4 weeks but was disappointed to see only a slight change in weight despite dropping all these unnecessary carbs.  It seems that the odd glass (or two) or the black stuff can act as an evening hunger suppressant and whilst beer and wine have been dropped, cake and biscuits have stepped in to fill that void.

I know weight doesn’t really matter and I’ve lost an inch or 2 off my waist anyway but it’s good to know that when I go back on the beer I shouldn’t see my weight balloon just as long as I cut out cake!

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final weigh in

  1. Pingback: Healthy eating « Happy Talk

  2. Pingback: Let them eat cake | Happy Talk

Leave a Reply

