Respect

A big thank you to the Green Kawasaki Ninja that made me smile this evening despite a particularly shite day at the office. 

We were side by side in the green box behind the Advanced Stop Line (I suspect some of you metal box dwellers have never spotted these road marking let alone observed their actual purpose) and although he shouldn’t have been in there (as it is exclusively for cyclist’s use) he wasn’t obstructing or endangering my progress so I didn’t sweat that particular small stuff. 

Then a tosser cyclist who was also sharing the box with us decided he would set off well before the lights went green.  He was wearing hi-viz so obviously had some regard for his own safety but being a typical cyclist thought that the rules of the road didn’t really apply to him.  I muttered ‘Tosser’ under my breath and then a moment later as we waited for the lights to finally change I glanced across to Mr Green Ninja.  As he declutched, our eyes met, and he gave a nod of respect in my direction.  For some reason this made me laugh and certainly made me feel a bit better about myself.

Being just the poxy ZX6R model I caught him at the next set of lights and pulled along side for a chat.  We had both passed the tosser cyclist but now he was up on the pavement (like they ALL do) and was about to nip across the A6 using the ped crossing (clever tosser). 

Me: “See, I caught you up no problem”

Green Ninja: “You weren’t impressed with him were you?” (so maybe I wasn’t mumbling!)

Me: “Well tossers like that give us all a bad name”

Turns out he was heading to Preston so we swapped sides before the lights changed and went our separate ways. 

Thank you for making me smile this evening Green Ninja.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Local travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

