You are what you eat

Which means I’m in big trouble!

With all my physical activity I can eat what I want without fear of putting on weight, however a better choice of diet could help me over the next month.  There are good carbs and bad carbs and I know very well what I should be doing it’s just that I’m wicked and I’m lazy.  Since the start of the year I have been eatting fruit more frequently but lazy lunchtimes and evening snack attacks have seen me sink to the lowest common demoninator: the McVities Jamaica Ginger cake.  I’ve been finding it for sale at 39p per loaf in my local Home Bargains store so last time I was in there I bought 8 bricks of it.  Only 93 kcals per slice, though they reckon you get 10 slices from a loaf?  I think not.  Anyway no matter how you slice it if you eat the whole thing on your own (in less than 15 minutes) it’s 930 kcal.  

Tomorrow is the start of Lent and an opportunity to moderate.  I have already decided to give up alcohol until the race at the start of next month (so not committing to the whole of Lent)  At tonight’s pancake party I russled up a chocolate orange pancake using Nutella and fresh orange and followed it with an ice cream and Vimto number which also worked, but admittedly not quite as well.  I hadn’t realised how much I liked sweet stuff.

I need to have stashes of healthy stuff around and particularly in my desk at work and drink much more water to suppress the sweet urges and fill me up a bit.  Can I make it through to Easter without another Ginger cake?

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Food and drink, Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You are what you eat

  1. Pingback: Let them eat cake | Happy Talk

Leave a Reply

