Vimto Milkshake – The next generation

One of my favourite and seemingly most popular blog entries is about Vimto and my ever so slightly bold claim to have invented the Vimto Milkshake.  About once a month someone hits my blog site because they have Googled ‘Vimto Milkshake’.  I’m top of the results list (don’t take my word for it – go check) and this pleases me enormously.  Particularly so, as in a previous life I have paid good money to project myself up the search engine results when using keywords that might suggest a business opportunity that is so much more than delivering catalogue shopping merchandise to the old and confused of Tewkesbury (Happy days!).

Nobody has yet disputed my claim to be the inventor of the Vimto Milkshake and this also pleases me enormously.

My kids love the Charlie and Lola animations and books by Lauren Child and so do I.  One of Lola’s bestest ever ever things in the whole wide world is pink milk and I’m delighted to see that Lauren Child’s own website makes reference to it.

Whenever I see or hear of pink milk I think Vimto milkshake.  However, to be honest that is to look at the world through rose tinted glasses as the correct combination of the purple nectar with cow’s booby juice results in a less than appetising mauve coloured creation.

The kids love it though and they haven’t yet picked up on the discrepancy betwixt description and appearance (bless them!).  Anyway, earlier this week I added a couple of drops of red food colouring and hey presto their nutritious yet exciting beverage became the pinkest of pink milk!

And so the Vimto milkshake is passed on to the next generation, I think my niece Abi is partial to a drop too thanks to my Sister’s influence.  Suggesting that her younger sister might try mixing a few drops of Vimto in with her SMA might be pushing things a little too far. 

Vimto milkshake rules ok!

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Food and drink, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

