I wouldn’t stop for red lights…..

….are lyrics from one of my favourite tunes of the last 12 months written by the wonderful Delphic who are a kind of New Order lite.  Their debut album was my favourite of 2010 (I bought 3 records from last year’s hit parade) and it’s already a strong contender for my album of the century.   

As a cyclist I always stop for red lights, although this morning I was severely tested.  The junction that really wound me up, and set the pattern for the morning, was St. Ann’s Road on Bury New Road.  Leaving Prestwich village and heading south I could see the lights from a good distance and had watched them turn to red. 

Good, I thought on approaching the park, they will be green and queued traffic would have dispersed by the time I reach them.  But no, I was wrong.  They stayed green for one of the major routes into Manchester for about 10 seconds (I kid you not) before going back to red.  I duly applied my brakes, transfering all that valuable kinetic energy to heat in my wheel rims and rage in my head, and patiently waited.  Nothing was waiting to turn out of St. Ann’s Rd.  I shook my little fist and swore with all the might that my 5 foot 6 and a half inch frame could muster.

I then hit a series of reds including the very unlikely ped crossing near Broughton Library (there was a dog walker crossing).  A stiff wind was also blowing hard into my face.  No matter, I thought, it will all be behind me this evening.

I didn’t notice any tailwind on the way home.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Local travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I wouldn’t stop for red lights…..

  1. Darrell says:

    I know how you feel but just think every time you stop at lights you are getting an extra workout starting off again!

    Bet you wish you’d had a run like this down Bury New Road (I turned off at Moor Lane). Very tempted to scalp him but that would have been soooo childish.

  2. holmesinho says:

    Not heard the term ‘scalp’ – like it lots
    He wasn’t as quick as he first appeared just had plenty of momentum when he passed (bricks in his panniers?) you could have taken him through Sedgeley Park if the traffic wasn’t queued up.
    Great footage, I feel homesick :o)

  3. Darrell says:

    I could have taken him anywhere from catching him to the traffic build up. Was planning to pass just before the cycle lane started again as the traffic bunched, as he was a bit slow downhill for me, however I noticed a car coming up close beside me (2.48) and lost the moment.

    Why homesick? Where are you?

  4. holmesinho says:

    I was about 6 miles from home.
    There’s no place like home

Leave a Reply

