Movember

Movember is an international campaign to grow moustaches to raise funds and awareness of prostate cancer, which is the most common form of cancer found in men.

I happened to be growing a silly moustache for a fancy dress party a couple of weekends ago and because my mum has been on holiday, and our paths have not crossed since the start of the month, I’ve decided to let it stick.  I’m away in London this weekend so she might only have to see it once before it disappears on 1st of December.

My last brief dalliance with facial hair was exactly 4 years ago, and Rob, to his credit, has remained consistant with his goatee ever since.  Prior to that there was a bleached and red dyed goatee for a Birmingham Artsfest samba performance but to be honest facial hair is not a particular talent of mine.

This November it’s progressing reasonably well and I’ve already staged a couple of fancy dress photos to tempt people into donating.  During my lunchhour a colleague photographed me trying on a Liverpool shirt in the Lowry Outlet and last night Catriona helped me recreate a classic Freddie Mercury pose.  If there is any interest in these 2 pictures I’ll also hunt down a Ferrari 308 to do a classic Tom Selleck shot.

If I can raise £20 I’ll show the first picture

http://uk.movember.com/mospace/868884/

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Facial Hair. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Movember

  1. Darrell says:

    I want to see the Magnum PI shot. It has to be an authentic Tom Selleck ‘tache though!

  2. holmesinho says:

    I did walk around with a Hawaiian shirt in my man-bag this weekend in the hope of spotting a 308 to pose along side. There’s one for sale in Oldham (£25k if you’re interested) but sadly it’s blue.

  3. Darrell says:

    Get the pic. I can turn the car red in Photoshop. Just make sure nothing on the shirt is blue.

Leave a Reply

