Time to step up the training again

I popped along to Salford University’s sports injury clinic on the way home from work.  Although my back has been fine for a while, my hamstrings are still tight.  If I’m to do a full distance triathlon next year I fear that running on top of cycle training could over cook them and then bring on the back pain I suffered a year ago.  I went to the clinic last week and they confirmed that my left hamstring was significantly tighter than my right and although they had a good root around my spine there was nothing significant in there other than some general stiffness.  I was given some stretches to do twice daily which I have managed to do at least once a day but I have been doing the hamstring stretch every time I have got off my bike as well as at each end of the day.

Today we revisited the seated leg stretches and I concentrated more on the effect upon my sciatic nerve.  I have found that I need to be sat on a table rather than perched on the edge of my squidgy bed which muffles the precise movements and mechanics of my body.  I was given some calf stretches to add in and told to step up my training to push my body a bit and see how it responds.  I might not cycle much more but I’d be glad to run more frequently.  I ran 5k on saturday morning then for just over an hour yesterday which generated some stiffness through my legs that I was glad to find I could sleep off.  I’m planning to run to work this week, the last time I did that it took me 57 minutes, this time it should be comfortably under 50, I’m sort of looking forward to doing it. 

I’ve just challenged my fitness friends on Endomondo to a November running challenge.  It’s about the number of times you run through the month rather than distance or speed.  I set the challenge a few days ago to ensure I kept myself ticking over as winter approached but now it looks like I’ll be doing at least 3 runs a week and I might as well put that effort towards a new 5k PB at the local Parkrun.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

