I am the Champion!

Today I was finally announced at work as the CSR ‘Champion’ for the Sage Manchester office.  I’d been waiting about a month for this to be made official and I’ve been itching to tell people and start them thinking and talking about CSR.  CSR is Corporate Social Responsibility and it’s something our company believes in.  We have had a full time CSR officer at the Head Office in Newcastle for about 3 years and this report for 2009 gives a flavour of all the activities coming underneath that banner.

There’s a plan for 10/11 to be agreed with our division’s executive and one of the exec will be sponsoring CSR activities and backing me as I go implement the Manchester plan.  I attended a change workshop this week as we, along with all the other divisions of Sage, are looking at our own workplace culture and how we might encourage some positive change and a different mindset. 

CSR activities seem a perfect way to united our workforce across departmental boundries and a way to define who we are and what we stand for.  I’m aware there is no ethical dimension to what we do as a business but I know that some of my colleagues do special and valuable work outside of the workplace that shows they care.  There will be opportunities for people to show their different talents, I want to tap into people’s passions and interests and give them a way to further express themselves in the workplace.

I need to find time around my day to day work as this is an additional role.  I know of a few things I’d like to do under the CSR banner and much of that can be done outside of the working day but I’ll be setting up day projects and coordinating fund raising efforts as well as promoting company wide initiatives.

I negociated my own job title, I had thought that ‘Ambassador’ or ‘Champion’ would have been used so was a little underwhelmed with the title ‘CSR Guru’ in the draft of the announcement.  I argued that it could be mistaken for Gnu and that Champion had more punch about it.  So a Champion I am.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Corporate Social Responsibility, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am the Champion!

  1. Darrell says:

    Congratulations on your new role. Hope it goes well.

Leave a Reply

