Bus ‘n’ bike Wednesday

I started on the 4 minute walk to my nearest bus stop but on approaching the main road with 13kg of folding bicycle laden across my shoulders and still a couple of minutes from the stop, I saw a bendy bus fly past.  I wrongly assumed this was my bus running early and cursed my luck, but my heavy heart was lifted about 5 minutes later when the 137 arrived bang on time. 

As last week I disembarked at Great Cheetham St and a single decker 52 turned up almost immediately.  The 51A I intended to catch was due to turn up 5 minutes later (though it ran 10 minutes late last week) so with a bird in the hand being worth 2 in the bush I opted to stick rather than twist and board the 52 with the intention of cycling the last couple of miles from Salford Shopping City where it terminated.  Imagine my unbridled joy when I found that on terminating the number 52 transformed into a number 53 and took me along Trafford Road without any need to cycle and so I arrived at my desk 10 minutes before my 7:30 start time. Oh happy day!

There is some interest in the my folding bike.  I have one prospective rider I am working on, he asked me about folders a couple of years ago but was only looking to spend about £150.  I gave him a demonstation of the 40 second assembly and then he rode a lap of the office. 

A few success stories under my belt helps me sell the idea of mixed mode travel, though I expect it won’t always work out as well as it has so far.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Local travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

