In too deep

The Windermere swim looms and I think I’m ready, though not really in peak condition.  I haven’t been to the baths for a couple of weeks and really need to get a last long swim in this week.  Lunchtime swims are hard to squeeze in so I hope to have a good strong 40 minute swim after work at some point.  Since the last hard run I blogged about I’ve felt my hamstrings tighten and I sense I’m close to the return of the twisted back.  Need to start stretching daily and after every exercise session.  I did rest up from running until last week on holiday I ran a half marathon after mis-judging the distance between our campsite and Drymen.  I didn’t run it at a hard pace but felt decidedly wobbly as I negociated the uneven tracks through the forest during the last couple of miles. 
 
Whilst camping by Loch Lomond I managed a couple of swims in the loch which I really enjoyed although I only swam 300m runs to the next bay and back.  My ambitious plan to swim across the Loch was initially pared back to a swim out to an island with Catriona watching me but then the poor weather prevented this from happening too.  Maybe next year.  I had felt a bit buffeted about by waves although I was weakened from the mornings 13 mile trot. 
 
My mate Andy has been swimming 2 or 3 times a week and is sure to crack 30 minutes.  I’m just looking to survive and keep under 35 minutes.  I don’t mind the distance swimming or the thrill of open water but I haven’t acquired the confidence to push myself hard or to the limit in water (just yet).
  
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

