A little more conversation, a little less action

Yes I did get that the right way around.
 
I am enjoying all my training at the moment but that’s not necessarily a good thing.  All this physical activity is rewarding but frankly it’s a massive distraction from more important stuff.  I need to do more thinking and talking and less action as all the activities are leaving me gasping for breath physically and mentally.  Exercising at lunchtime is great but working yourself into such a state that you are having trouble functioning through the afternoon is not a good thing.  So no more lunchtime swims and all my Salford Quayside runs will be relaxed ones.  I run my best early morning anyway so will push that at the weekend instead.  I only have 1 potential Sage Fast Friday opponent left and as the idea of the competition was to encourage people to run (and Mark needs absolutely no encouragement from me!) the competition is now pointless.
 
And on the swimming front: I’m going to enjoy it and let Andy beat me at Windermere by whatever margin he wants.  He has always been faster than me, has trained harder than me and wants it really bad.  I’m not giving up and will still give my all on the day (and enjoy it!) but any attempts to squeeze extra swimming sessions in are not going to help me over-take him at this stage – what will be will be.  I’ll do one more Knutsford open water swim with him and JP on Thursday then try to do some lengths at the weekend whilst the kids and Catriona are swimming too.  I’m also planning a dip or 2 in Loch Lomond when we go camping up there – I can’t wait for that!
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

