On to the next challenge

I’m still basking in the glory of last weekend’s stupendous result and Ben, my Department Head, keeps bigging me up.  Today he mentioned my result to the whole department in our monthly meeting in amongst the promotions, people leaving and marriages that were being announced.  I think most people knew about it already as I spent most of Monday wittering on about it to a few mildly interested people.  Ben made a similar announcement to our Exec team who I lunched with yesterday to celebrate my birthday (along with another 10 people whose birthday fell in June).  I had a good natter with our new Marketing Director, mostly about his hobby: polo, now there’s a interesting challenge!  Sounds far too dangerous for me. 
 
So again I’ve pushed myself physically more than I could have imagined.  Despite this I’ve stayed injury free and found a sustainable level of activity.  I’ve exercised more than expected because I’ve enjoyed it so much: From the open water swimming experience and training in an endless pool to the 20 minute arm only sessions at the local baths during my dinner hour.  The quick extended rides to work and nippy direct commutes on the road bike, the improving runs, Fast Fridays and interval training with work colleagues and the Parkrun in Heaton Park not forgetting a half marathon along the Spanish Costa Del Sol.  I’m faster, fitter and generally stronger than ever, kept illness at bay despite the quality of my diet slipping and the amount of sleep I have been having steadily reducing.  I feel like I have been running on adrenalin for the last couple of weeks and after the glow disappears I’m expecting a bit of a low.
 
The Windermere swim approaches next and I’ve promised to join Andy for an open water lake swim near Knutsford in a couple of weeks time. But my next big challenge is running and competing against Sage employees worldwide to record the fastest 3k, 5k and 10k runs.  We are submitting our times via Endomondo which is a free activity tracking application and portal for smart phone and Garmin type GPS output.  It’s also a social networking site allowing you to post your activities to friends around the world.  Compare and contrast the past and future methods of me recording my activity:
 
 
 
I’ve already befriended fellow Sage employee ‘Tampa Tom’ whose recent 17:45 5k time gives me something to shoot at.  I hope to be running under 19 minutes myself in the next couple of months, further improvement beyond that might take some effort but it’ll be fun to try.
 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

