Training update

Welll the swim analysis has worked as I have focussed on my kick during the last two pool sessions since the coaching at Tricentral.  On Friday I found Stretford baths busier than it tends to be on a Wednesday and I was asked to refrain from using my newly accquired flippers but only after I’d used them for 20 lengths.  Monday night with the 2 Andys and John, again in a busy pool, I worked really hard to keep my legs together and feet high in the water.  I felt like I hadn’t worked as hard as in previous weeks and felt tired aches in places that wouldn’t previously have ached so pretty sure I’m using different and more importantly the correct muscles.
 
I wanted to sign up for the 2010 open water swims at Salford Quay’s watersports centre but noticed a condition of joining was that I had to be a member of a swim or triathlon club, so this evening I’ve joined the Manchester Triathlon club.  I took out the £25 bronze membership rather than the £220 gold which means I have to pay for any training sessions I go on.  I would only really be interested in swim sessions/training and Salford Quays should provide all the experience I need but it will be good to meet other triathletes of a similar standard and pick up one or two tips about competing as well as second hand bits of kit.  The coaching and training sessions they can offer might be of more interest next year if I move to the full olympic distance. 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

