Yet more running and cycling

We’ve had another active day already in the Holmes household and it’s only just turned 11 o’clock.  I tried and again failed to break 40 minutes for my 20k bike ride early this morning but got closer to the target.  No decent excuses, I suppose it was a bit cold and I think I need to put more effort into the first few miles.  On returning I handed Freddy Forerunner on to Catriona who took him out for a 5k run with her new running partner Zoe.  Zoe has done a 10k before and Catriona appreciated the steady pace that she set for them today.
 
Whilst Mum was out running I took the kids into Heaton Park to watch a weekly 5k race which sets off from by the boating like.  The run is one of the Parkrun free to enter 5k events that are organised across the country.  I only heard of this event a few days ago but I think both Catriona and I will soon be taking turns to compete and practise our preparation for race events.  Today there were over 150 runners and after seeing them all start we walked back to the lower playground in the opposite direction to the runners so saw them all complete the first lap, then whilst the kids were playing on the swings I saw them all run down the drive from Heaton Hall on their second, longer lap.  There were people of all shapes, sizes and abilities; A couple of people ran with dogs and a 6 year old lad cycled around (presumably encouraging and pacing a parent).  The leader was 30 seconds clear of the field and it will be interesting to see how close he ran to last weekend’s fastest time of 16:12.  It’s certainly not a flat course but it would be nice to give it a try and run somewhere near 20 minutes myself.
 
 
   
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

