Back on track

I rode in 4 times this week which has given me my target cycle mileage and I swam at lunchtime on Thursday.  This wasn’t as satisfying as usual and I felt distracted as I had plenty to think about whilst swimming.  All the tips I have been given are a bit confusing: reaching forward, pushing through the water, keeping my head down and hips level, feet together and beating evenly.  My 10 length splits didn’t show any improvement for all this focus on technique but it could be that I’ve lost some fitness in the pool over the last few weeks.  I think next time I’ll drive to the pool rather than cycle so that I’m fresher and might isolate my arms again using a leg float.  Then I won’t have to worry about my tumble turns – which are improving but are still a little irratic.  Although the tumble turns aren’t needed in open water, they help maintain the intensity of your swim avoiding the option of dawdling through an end of pool turn.
 
I missed a run with James on Wednesday but we made up for it today trying a bit of Fartlek during our usual Boulder City run.  We started with 5 minutes gentle jogging during which time we were overtaking by a pensioner, then sprung into life for a minute (though didn’t catch up with the pensioner as I had hoped).  We had a minute back at a jog before I counted down the seconds to our first 2 minute interval.  The timing of this one was unfortunate as we were going through the rougher, muddier and more uneven section of Boulder City (Pomona Strand) but after this burst I realised that progressing to 3 minutes of hard running was too much for a first Fartlek session so we agreed to switching between 2 minutes quick and 2 minutes steady.  I really wanted to feel a difference between the paces but James’ top speed doesn’t compare with mine so to add another challenge without going too fast I tried running on my toes for 2 minutes.  This felt unusual though not uncomfortable at the time.  My calves currently feel like they are going to explode but hopefully I’ll have recovered in time for an hour long run on Sunday morning.   
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

