Falling off

I had 2 falls today.  The first was predictably from my bike as I hit some ice.  More than anything it was really annoying as I had carefully walked to the nearest snow free section of road from my house and had amended my route to stay on main roads.  I fell within sight of the office on a mini roundabout which was covered in black ice and had caught out quite a few colleagues in their cars.  The bike slid sideways from under me and landed heavily on my right elbow and knee.  The bike was fine and my pride was hurt more than any physical bit of me.  I felt stupid and walked sheepishly to the cycle parking area.
 
The knock didn’t stop me running with James at lunchtime or at least trying to.  We had run 2 days earlier but today the snow had melted and only ice remained with no depth for your tread.  We had a couple of slips within the first 5 minutes so knocked it on the head before we hurt ourselves.
 
The massive silver lining was that I had chance to pop to the pub with Zoe and Mike as we do fairly frequently of a Friday lunchtime.  It was still a fairly treacherous journey but once safely in Sam Platt’s it was my turn to get the drinks and instinctively I ordered a pint and a half of diet Coke and a Guinness.  I had just taken my first slurp of stout when I realised I had fallen off the wagon.  Oh well, I thought, I might as well finish it off and my my did it taste good.  I haven’t given in tonight although half a crate of Boddies was flirting with me in the garage this evening.   I think I can manage the remaining 16 days 1 hour and 12 minutes to the end of the month in absentance.
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Falling off

  1. Jorge says:

    Glad to hear you were not hurt – Friday was trully atrocious for ice, and there was nowhere to hide, foot, cycle or car.

  2. Nigel says:

    I’ve survived the remainder of the snow though an early sunday morning run through the Clough had me dancing on ice. Just got the traffic to worry about again: 2 near misses on mini-roundabouts today.

Leave a Reply

