Technique beats fitness

Last night I went swimming over at Leigh Sports Village with the 2 Andys.  I was able to share transport with Andy F for our 25 mile round trip to get a free swim (well free if you share a locker with your mates).  It seems nuts that Wigan council offer the annual pass to access their swimming pool to everyone irrespective of postcode (even though you tell them your address on the application form).  If I lived over there I’d be complaining to the council.  Nevertheless we met up with bona fida local resident Andy B who was having a last swim before his gall bladder removal operation which means he will miss the next few weeks.

The cark park around the Leisure Village was busier than I’d seen before but it would seem that this state of affairs was due to the presence of Michael Johnson, Benjami and Vincent Kompany together with a few other lesser known City players drawing over 1,000 people to a Blackburn reserve match at the stadium next door.

The pool was fairly busy too, but with a bit of patience you could wait for a gap and overtake or hold back and swim drill exercises rather than swim at a steady normal speed.  After about 50 minutes swimming we timed each other doing a quick length before getting out.  5’6" sub 11 stone me swam the 25 metres in just under 20 seconds whereas 5’10” and fit but overweight (though no longer obese) Mr B managed it in 17.  Andy F is the same height as me and if I’m being generous is only 3 stones heavier.  He’s done a bit of swimming recently but not regularly until joining the Leigh Sports Village.  At Scout swimming gala nights over 25 years ago he would amaze everone with his speed and yet again he astounded me by matching the other Andy’s time.  Admittedly he has no stamina to sustain that speed but it goes to show that when it comes to out and out speed the technique drilled into him as a child gave him an edge over my triathlon fitness.

We enjoyed a pint afterwards and I’ve raised the question of the Great North Swim next September, both Andys are keen and I’ve found someone in my office who did it the last couple of years and is looking forward to swimming it again.  Looks like I’m going to have some company for that event.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

