First proper ride of the road bike

I took my ‘Princess’ out for a first proper ride early on Sunday morning and was fortunate to capture a 40 minute window of dry weather immediately after sunrise.  The rest of the day was very wet.  I rode to Bury Parish Church to visit my Grandma’s grave which had recently had the stone updated to show where her ashes lay along side my Grandpa’s.
 
It was an appropriate journey as I’d put some of my inheritance towards the cost of the bike and it felt a bit like I was seeking her approval of a new girlfirend.  I parked her up outside the graveyard and gave the Rector, Dr. Findon, a bit of a start when I bumped into him (not literally) as he didn’t recognise me all lycra’d up.  Grandma wasn’t into bikes so probably wouldn’t have an opinion on the vehicle itself and if she’d seen it she’d probably have been concerned for my safety whilst riding above anything else.  I think she’d have understood my reasons for buying it and what a positive impact triathlon and cycling is having on my life as a whole (despite back pain!).
 
Anyway the first proper ride was more comfortable than the little runs around Heaton Park I had tried recently.  I was reaching further forward than I would have liked and might fit a shorter stem to alleviate this, but as long as I ease myself into the position with some shorter rides initially and stretch afterwards I think I’ll be okay.  I deliberately didn’t push too hard but found the run into Bury easy work crusing at around 20 mph.  I later found that a slight tail wind had been helping, but even uphill homewards into the wind my progress was not too laboured.  The gear change was crisp and I got onto the big third crank but spent more time in lower gears spinning my legs as quickly as was comfortable without any cleats to keep my feet firmly placed.
 
Finally the name: ‘Princess’ is a little pun of sorts which only fellow students of Sir Issac Newton might find funny.  I studied the works of Newton one summer as I had to write about a scientist of my choice for a physics assignment.  Newton’s Mathematica Principia, after which my new bike is named, is his famous work including his 3 laws of motion.  For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction and all that!
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

