Back in the saddle

Today I was back commuting to work by bike after 11 days out of the saddle.  My back is much better and having bought a new mattress at the weekend it should soon also be getting the extra nocturnal support it requires.  

The morning ride to the office was hard work, with a blustery wind sapping what little energy I had in my legs.  I find it hard to believe that my legs would be affected by a few days off so maybe it was more a mental thing.  The weather was lousy (although I missed some truly filthy stuff last week) and the darkness made it that much more hazardous and unpleasant, but I suppose that’s what I’ve got to expect for the next few months.

I took the new road bike out for a spin yesterday but limited it to about 5k as I’ve be unable to remove one of the Look clip-less pedals – I broke a spanner in the process of trying to remove it as well as scaring bits of my hands (and neck too!).  The first ride was an uncomfortable experience due to the unfamiliar crouched posture, narrow tyres and a rigid frame that transmitted every contour of the roads through my body.  I’ll work my way up to the full distance of my 20k circuit but if I limit my rides to dry days in daylight this could take a few weeks.  Once I’ve sorted out the other pedal I might go out on wet roads to get some time in the saddle but will have to be careful and make sure the conditions are dry before I try to better my PB for that run.  I’ll give a full report on the road bike after a proper ride until then I’ll be working out how to get as comfortable as possible and what clothing works best.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

