Countdown to the Triathlon

The big triathlon day approaches and even if I get disqualified for some minor indiscretion within a transition zone, training for the event has made it all worthwhile.  I now enjoy running regularly again and with the event out of the way I’ll look to do longer distances at the weekends, jogging through Prestwich Clough, Philips Park or Heaton Park rather than running a measured 3k or 5k route and clockwatching as I have been doing as of late (knocked another minute off my 5k PB tonight).

I’ve not been as bored with the rides to and from work as they have served another purpose and the occasional fast run has been satisfying too.  I’ve tired a little of my 20k weekend cycle circuit and look forward to doing slightly longer distances to Holcombe Hill or along the Irwell Valley. 

The swimming has been fun too although it has given me a bit of back ache over the last couple of weeks because I have been using a float to give my legs buoyancy whilst I power myself by arms alone.  I still hope to swim most weeks although Alex is taking to swimming and it might be even more fun to go with him rather than on my own during my lunch hour.

The bike is ready to roll, I had a spoke replaced and the rear wheel was trued last weekend.  If all goes well and I decide to do the Liverpool Triathlon I’ll look to buy a 2nd hand road bike as well as some other kit to make sure my sprint around that city is as quick as possible.  However, on Sunday it’s a case of completing the course and learning about the transition phases ready for a full length sprint event and swimming in open water for the first time.

About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

