First training triathlon

I pieced the 3 disciplines together for the first time this morning swimming 500m, cycling 20k and running 5k and I’m not feeling too bad after all that.  The swim was a struggle because although I arrived at Radcliffe baths within 5 minutes of the opening time the pool was already full of pensioners doing what pensioners do; no not dive bombing and splashing each other but swimming very slowly in pairs and chatting to each other as they pootle along which I found equally annoying.  The pool was no place for a man on a mission such as myself and nobody was making any space for me so it felt like I was playing Frogger as I swam, frequently dodging sideways, slowing down and speeding up again.  There was not decent clock available so I guess I completed the 20 lengths in about 11 minutes.
 
After a quick rub down and throwing on shorts and a t shirt I set off for the cycling leg.  I rode to Heaton park and did 3 laps to ensure I’d covered 20km by the time I was back home.  The route wasn’t particularly flat or smooth so my average speed was quite a bit less than on my last 20k ride but I wanted to avoid the rush hour traffic on the roads.  
 
I’d left myself enough energy for the run and after a quick change of footwear in the garage I was straight out again, taking the first kilometre gently until my stiff legs began to feel like my own again.  I hadn’t recorded a local 5k run so had no target time to aim for but 22:42 seemed suprisingly quick.  When I was training for the marathon I could run 5k in under 20 minutes but that was a long time ago and without an hour’s exercise preceeding it.  Overall I did my today’s triathlon in 85 minutes including the transitions. 
 
I’ve entered the North West Triathlon next month and will be taking part in the sprint event over the same distances as I completed today.  Judging by last year’s times I won’t be anywhere near the back in my first competitative race and over the next 5 weeks I have time to shave a few more minutes off my new PB. 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

