Running and swimming

I’ve still not fallen into a regular routine for running although I have tried running straight after getting off my bike in the evening and that has worked well.  Tonight I ran a bit harder and took a glance at the clock in the garage before setting off so knew that I ran 2 miles in about 15 minutes.  I kept a steady but purposeful pace and was pleasantly suprised with my time on returning home.  I had vowed not to clockwatch for a few months at least, but a couple of colleagues ran 5k in 24 minutes this lunchtime and have been pestering me to join them.  I wanted to be sure I wouldn’t embarrass myself and will now join them on Friday confident that I can keep their pace.  James and Matt have GPS systems to record their route and give them data on their performance.  If I can keep up regular light training until the end of the year I’ve promised myself a Garmin Edge for Christmas so that I can start checking my own progress towards the triathlon. 
 
In the pool I’ve been making some progress but I’ve had to take a step back in order to take 2 forwards.  I have changed my front crawl from breathing every 4 to every 3 strokes.  It felt strange at first, breathing to the left as well as the right but yesterday it started to feel better and quicker than my previous technique.  I’m building up to 20 lengths without resting and will then look to strengthen my kick and improve my shape in the water.  I’ve enjoyed the lunchtime swimming so far and hope the enjoyment spreads to my running. 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

