The next challenge

Okay so what’s the next challenge to tackle?
 
I’m very rarely pleased with anything I have achieved but in training for the Coast to Coast ride I was very satisfied with my methodical approach to training and my dedication through bad weather and times of stress and unhappiness.  I know that I need to exercise to feel good about myself and it’s a question of balancing it against everything else.  Of course exercise is important, particularly so to me, but the training should be enjoyable, not too onerous and definately not as time consuming as the C2C training became.
 
I’ve always wanted to do a triathlon, I think after completing the marathon I decided I’d rather do a tri next than repeat a long run, but I never got the chance to do anything about it over the years before the kids arrived.  Of the 3 disciplines I think running would be my strength although I concede I’m way past my peak!  I used to run 5k in under 20 minutes and 8.5 miles in an hour when training for the marathon.  At this moment in time my body is best suited to cycling, and so much so that it has had a detrimental effect on my running.  I trotted 3 miles around Prestwich this evening and despite 10 minutes stretching afterwards I expect to ache tomorrow, and probably for a couple of days longer, though I hope to squeeze in a weekend run if possible.
 
I haven’t got time to train for the full olympic distance of 1.5km swim, 40km cycle and 10Km run which I guess would take me over 3 hours to complete, that would be nice to do one day but certainly not at the moment.  The sprint event distances of 500m, 20k & 5k however, are quite achieveable.  The Cheshire Triathlon is held at the end of May so I’ve almost a year to work towards it.
 
I might go for a swim tomorrow in my lunch hour, and start working towards a workday triathlon consisting of the usual cycle to the office which is just over 10km, swim in my lunchhour and then run home.  I ran to work once in 57 minutes as part of my alternative transport experiment last summer, I’m sure I could trim a good few minutes off that time.  I’d also like to use the triathlon training as a trigger for a healthy eatting drive.  Catriona cooks well and fairly healthily for us all but I tend to be lazy and through a lack of a substantial breakfast and no store of healthy goodies in my draw I end up wandering back and forth to the snack vending machine through the day.  To start with I need to replace mini cheddars and Wispa bars with apples and flapjack, lets see if the revolution starts tomorrow. 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

