5 days to go

My chesty cold won’t go away.  Woke up with it in my head again today having had 2 clear head days with it lingering on my chest.  I’m taking vitamin c tablets but suspect they only really work as prevention rather than cure.  Catriona found some nasal drops which cleared the passages during the day but it is back again tonight.
 
Whilst reading up a bit about carb loading tonight I also spotted an article saying that you are particularly susceptable to colds and bugs straight after a training session.  This makes me quite vunerable because the reason I have been doing intense 4 or 5 hour rides early on a weekend morning is to spend time with the kids who in turn are bringing back bugs from both their respective nursaries. 
 
I will start carb loading tomorrow, seems that little and often is the key.  I’ve neglected my day to day diet recently which has probably also contributed to the poorer health, however I have at least learnt how to fuel myself effectively for 4 or 5 hours continuous riding.  I have been grazing on dried apricots and fig biscuits as well as drinking PSP Go from my cage bottle.  I also quaff 1/2 a litre of it before leaving the house as I have no time to eat anything at all – it probably sends my blood sugar loopy but I’ve never felt a crash afterwards. Not suffered the dreaded bonk (yet!) but will look to carb loading to give me a foundation for 14 hours in the saddle over 2 days which is going to be something different again.
 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Coast to Coast ride. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

