Saddle sore

I tried out a new saddle today and it left me sore.  It was larger and more cushioned than the previous one so I assumed it was going to be more comfortable but the inside of my legs rubbed against it and my bum cheeks felt battered and bruised after 20 miles.  Fortunately the discomfort did not increase further as the miles passed by but I’ll definately swap back to the previous saddle.
 
Last night I was plotting a 100+ mile return trip to across Lancashire as we were spending the day with Grandma and Grandpa at Hornby however I saw sense and packed the bike rack in the car meaning I only had to ride the outward leg.  It included a beautiful trip through the Forest Of Bowland from Cltheroe to High Bentham including about 10 miles when all I saw along the single track road were sheep and cattle grids.  I enjoyed glorious sunshine all the way and having set off a little later than normal I was glad of the water backpack that I wore for the first time as the temperature started to rise.  
 
I headed up the Irwell valley to Haslingden with Burnley fans streaming along the A56 in the opposite direction on their way to Wembley to see their team return to the top flight of English football for the first time in 33 years.  I passed through Accrington and on to Clitheroe then started the climb up from Waddington through Slaidburn into the Forest of Bowland.  Although I think I had travelled along this road before I couldn’t have told you when I last did it so I was unsure of the twists, turns and more importantly the inclines.   The area has the profile of a bowl with a steady climb up before a quick descent into the Trough (hitting 46.5 mph whilst freewheeling) and then a second long climb up and over the rim of the bowl on the opposite side.  There were other ups and downs in between and the uncertainty of what was coming next prevented me from relaxing and really enjoying the scenery, maybe if all that work hadn’t been towards the end of the ride it would have been easier too.  I arrived at Hornby 5 minutes after the rest of the family and enjoyed a wonderful relaxed day whilst the kids played around the garden and were taken away fishing down the river with Grandma & Grandpa.
 
Less than 2 weeks to the big ride please sponsor me at: http://www.justgiving.com/holmesinho 
 
 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Coast to Coast ride. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

