50 more miserable miles

I headed out at 5:45am this morning on my latest training ride but sadly didn’t enjoy a single mile of it.  This was my first ride in the rain and although it wasn’t heavy stuff it was enough to leave me sodden footed after 10 miles – I should have worn my over-shoes.  My budget gloves lasted a bit longer but by the time I reached Blackburn my fingers were as soggy as my toes. 
 
The ride wasn’t a tough one: all on road and no big climbs.  I skirted around Bolton before taking the A666 through Darwen to Blackburn, then I headed east through Accrington and Haslingden and back to the familiar Irwell Valley.  At Edenfield I headed out towards Rochdale over Scout Moor then at Awd Betts I turned right and descended Ashworth Valley.  If the weather had been good there would have been some glorious views across Greater Manchester, but not today.  At the other end of the valley I headed towards Rochdale again and then back home through Middleton.
 
I knew a ride in the rain was about due but I didn’t reaslise it would be so miserable, the overshoes would have helped but probably not made much difference to my spirits.  I hope the weather at the start of June is better.  I knew the C2C ride would require some dedication to training and it was good that I was tested today, I’ve also learnt another couple of lessons.   Please sponsor me at http://www.justgiving.com/holmesinho
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Coast to Coast ride. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

