Good Friday in Holmfirth

I had suffered a bit after the first long ride on Candy the Cannondale because despite the route being flat, both the softer surfaces and fatter tyres had taken more out of my legs than expected.  That 45 mile ride had been a bit flat and dull so I was determined to take in some hills on a longer Good Friday ride.
 
So early that morning, in search of some gradients and more interesting scenary, I ventured over to the dark side – Yorkshire.  The interest and inclines were provided by the Pennines which form a no-mans land between the 2 rival Rose counties. My destination over there was Holmfirth, famous for providing the delightful backdrop to Last of The Summer Wine.  I’m not an avid fan but thought that Sid’s Cafe in the town centre might be a suitable stopping point for a brew and a sausage sandwich, however as I half expected it was closed as was most of the town which seemed to be correctly observing Good Friday as the Bank Holiday it is.
 
I chose the long way over to Holmfirth in order to take a different but shorter return journey.  I rode through Ashton and Stalybridge before taking on the 7 or 8 mile steady climb to the top of Saddleworth Moor. Once up there the descent started almost immediately and I was relieved that all the work had been done and I could relax and enjoy the scenary whilst cruising comfortably above 20 mph.

The shorter return was not as striaght forward with a couple of extra down and ups I hadn’t bargained on and once on the A62 to take me back to Oldham I struggled with the last climb which, although not especially steep, seemed to drag on and on.  I got home at 10:15 having ridden around 55 miles in 4 1/2 hours.  I later realised that I had taken a wrong turning at Stalybridge and crossed the Pennines on the road I should have returned on.  My actual route was quite different to my intended route although the overall mileage was similar. 

 
With more climbing than I had ever tackled before I was delighted with my performance and although my legs throbbed for I while afterwards I felt physically and mentally stronger than ever.
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Coast to Coast ride. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

