I’ve got my maps

I ordered a couple of maps of the Coast to Coast route and a couple of guides for the Manchester team and they arrived today so the reality of the ride is dawning on me.
 
It’s not so much the distances that bother me now but some of the climbs.  We will be cycling just under 90 miles on the Saturday but that distance includes a really big hill towards the end of the day.  The climb to Hartside, which I’ve heard mentioned by a few who have done the C2C, is 1348 ft spread over 3.7 miles and with that in mind I’ve organised a Saturday ride from Penrith to Alston where we will be staying the night during the C2C ride.  There are just 2 of us from Manchester and a couple meeting us from the Newcastle office.  The forecast is poor but I’m glad in a way as I haven’t had my resolve tested by the weather so far.
 
By Saturday evening I’ll have a better idea what I have let myself in for.  
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Coast to Coast ride. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

