Healthy living

Life has been particularly busy over the last couple of weeks and the usual stresses have been compounded by the lack of a living room (leaving the rest of the house in a state) and the bad weather preventing us from letting the kids burn off some energy in the back garden.  I had looked forward to a many summer evening meals on the beautifully decked terrace or a BBQ or two but I think we have eaten out there twice this year.  We braved a BBQ about 3 weeks ago but I had to put up a gazebo and in the end I was the only one outside the house passing assorted beautifully cooked meats into the house where everyone else stayed dry.
 
I think the cycle commuting makes me more sensitive to poor weather and although I have not been absolutely soaked over the last couple of months it seems to have rained on 4 out of 5 days and we have had no sustained period of sunshine and good weather to allow weekend trips to be planned.  In desperation we went to the Lytham St Annes a couple of weeks ago because it was quite sunny at 8am in the morning.  By 9am, as we joined the M61, it had completely clouded over then we had spits of rain as soon as we started walking along the promanade before it finally poured down over lunch. 
 
So crap weather, a software release which dragged way past its intended release date at work and prolonged decoratings disturbance have got me down a bit – and I thought I was doing well just recently.  I took Maria to see my Grandma last weekend and she has been feeling a little sorry for herself over recent times.  She used to be quite feisty and a bit of a handful but despite relative good heath she has not been on top form over the last few months.  It turns out she has missed a couple of iron/vitamin B12 injections and a nurse at the home where she is currently staying was telling me that a lack of B12 can lead to depression and lethagy.  I have not been bouncing out of bed recently and although my diet is probably better than the average I probably don’t get everything I need.  On Monday lunchtime I bought a bag of apples, a bag of dried apricots (just 3 of them gives you 1 of your 5 a day) and some Sainsbury’s own multi-vitamins to suppliment my diet.  The pharmcist there actually talked me out of buying the Vitamin B complex that was recommended to me by the nurse.  I feel better already although it has to be said that our software release finally went out this week, I have a long weekend (5 days) to get on top of DIY and other stuff and I’ve already shared a bottle and a half of assorted wines this evening (well I’m on holiday aren’t I?)    
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

