An apology to First Buses (almost)

I tried and failed to catch the 95 bus yet again yesterday.  This time I arrived a good 10 minutes earlier than (I thought) the bus was due, with a speech prepared to repremand the bus driver for having turned up early the last 3 times I have tried to catch the bus.  However, the Mysterious Dark Haired Lady with Eastern European Accent (MDHLwEEA) who I found also travels to Exchange Quay ambled up at 7:12 a good 2 minutes after the bus was due which seemed a bit strange.  MDHLwEEA had noticed that for the last couple of weeks I have left the bus stop tutting and cursing at 7:18 (or so) to catch a tram which will still get me to the office for 8am and for that reason she drew my attention to the revised summertime timetable.
Aha!  Apparently through the school holidays the buses run later so either I could catch one at 7:23 or the preceeding one at 6:53.  If I need to be at the stop 10 minutes early to ensure I catch the bus then I’ll have to leave the house at 6:37 to be sure I’ll be in the office for 8am, which is a bit rubbish, although if I did make it in for 7:30am I could leave at 4pm and catch an earlier bus home.  Although the first time I missed the bus it was running early the next 2 times it was on the adjusted timetable so I was a little hasty to criticise First Buses.
 
It looks like I’ll be on the tram until the autumn or until I try out the folding bike alternative – hopefully more on that next week(!?)
 
 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Local travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

