Different routes to work update

Wednesday has become bus day and today as I was going out to a customer site to install a Beta of our latest software I certainly wasn’t going to cycle to the office either suited and booted or carrying my clothes rolled up in a pannier.  Sadly the bus let me down so I have to amend my initial evaluation of it as a means of getting to the office.
 
It seems that on the week of my experience I dropped lucky and the bus arrived exactly to timetable (within a minute of expected).  The following week it turned up 5 mins late, which wasn’t a problem but there was less than a minutes gap between the 95 arriving and the 53 leaving from Salford Shopping City.  Last wednesday the bus arrived 3 minutes early and I had to run along Bury New Road to catch it. 
 
Today I arrived at the stop 5 minutes early and noticed that a dark haired Lady who also travels to Exchange Quay was not there.  It is July after all, maybe she’s on holiday, I thought, but after a 12 minutes wait I realised I had probably missed the bus.  I trotted over to the station where the good old Metrolink turned up within a couple of minutes.  It’s gone up to £5 now by the way.  I only waited 6 or 7 minutes for a connection in town and arrived at Exchange Quay still in time for my 8 o’clock nominal target (I work flexy start and finish so it doesn’t really matter).  As I approached the front door to the building I spotted the dark haired Lady on the other side of the road so I rushed over to her an enquired as to whether the bus was early or late.  Apparently it was 10 minutes early and it can turn up any time between 7:00 to 7:20 which quite frankly is rubbish.
 
I’m looking at buying a (very) cheap folding bike (Roadrunner) which means that I won’t have to worry about a connecting bus, but until then I will have to pick and choose my bus days very carefully.
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Local travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

