No elected Mayor for Bury

I’m glad to report that despite a poor turnout yesterday the majority of those people in Bury that did vote opposed the proposal to have an Elected Mayor
 
If the decision had gone the other way I was planning to join the Looney party and stand in Octobers election as a cowboy with the slogan "Bury needs a Sheriff not a Mayor".
 
If elected I would have tried my best to remove myself from office and in addition I would have sold the Mayoral car and borrowed a horse for civic functions to both mitigate the tax burden of me being appointed and to reduce the Town Hall’s carbon footprint.
 
I’m almost disappointed the result didn’t go the other way!
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

