A rare poitical rant

Sorry it’s politics but I have to get this off my chest.
 
Today in Bury we are voting whether or not to have an Elected Mayor, and if the yes vote wins then later this year we will vote for someone who will hold this position for 4 years.  Apparently 8,000 pillocks signed a petition for this to be considered and provoked the referendum.  I hope they don’t bother to vote today as I expect the vast majority of the electorate won’t be bothering (even though it’s not raining).
 
There was a scare story in the local paper that an Elected Mayor could cost us £2.5m, even if it cost us just a 10th of that amount wouldn’t the money be better spent on one more teacher or youth worker in the Borough?
 
Hey, I’ve a great idea, why don’t we all vote in a Lib Dem mayor and then together with our 2 Labour MPs and our Conservative led council we could have complete political gridlock in the town with constant bickering over who’s at fault for what, how much it’s costing and nobody actually changing anything for the better?  (I was being ironic there by the way)
 
I already have an MEP, MP and a Councillor who I elect, I might soon have an English Assembly and/or Regional Assembly representative forced upon me to bring us in line with Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.  I certainly do not need to elect a Mayor.  To be honest I don’t know how they are currently appointed but if I had my way I would have the position default to the longest serving local councillor in recognition of their service to the local community.   All this bureaucracy is paid for out of our taxes and extra tiers are an unnecessary burden on society, especially when at all levels party politics dominates and the individuals you vote for have to tow a party line on the majority of issues.
 
If it goes ahead I might stand against them all as an Unoffical Monster Raving Looney
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

