The rest of bike week

I just knew that daily blogging would not be sustainable, I shouldn’t have bothered to try it.  Anyway this is what happened during the rest of my cycling week: Thursday (wrote Mr. Kipling) and I popped over to the Bicycle Doctor to pick up the shoes which came as part of my cycle to work package.  They aren’t anything special that fixes my foot to the pedal (I’m not that brave, especially as most of my cycling is in traffic) and they are a black and brown suedy sort of shoe; the kind that the office spod would wear except they are a little bit bling bling with mock diamond encrusted heels (okay so it’s some little reflective dots). 
 
On picking up the shoes I also had the saddle replaced which had a small rip in it.  I had popped over there after work which took me about 5 miles in the wrong direction.  I then powered home through town finding Cambridge Street, a quieter road parallel to Oxford Road, to take me from Whitworth park into the city avoiding the nasty Magic Busses.  I then travelled out on Quay Street past Granada Studios and through Blackfriers and Broughton before picking up Bury New Road.  I found myself racing the traffic ie picking out a particular car or van as it passed me, catching it at lights then trying to stay ahead.  I won most of the time but with a 10 mile ride across town it took a lot out of me.  So when I got in a necked 2 pints of fruit squash immediately and then was too bloated to eat my tea.  Note to self: must start using my drink’s container and cage on the way back from work (or stop riding so bloody quickly).
 
I’ve enjoyed the first week with the Trek 7.3 and we’ve clocked up 85 miles between us.  I’m finding myself travelling too quickly though because the bike is lighter and geared slightly higher than the Claude Butler and I’m tempted into the old bad habit of drafting behind vans and busses.  I’m taking a couple of days off work and then the rest of the week will be spent travelling in by alternative methods as a little congestion charge related experiment.  I picked up a bus timetable and feel brave enough to try and make my way to work by that means on Wednesday.  Friday I plan to jog in as I’m being picked up from work by the family (and whisked away for a weekend in Norfolk) so I only have to do the journey in one direction which is quite manageable.  I think the jog will prove quicker than taking the bus but I might have to spend the £3.70 saved on compeed plasters
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

