Happy new bike

I rode to work on my new Trek 7.3 for the first time today and really enjoyed it.  I’m struggling with the gear shift, as the right hand controls to move the chain across the rear cassette are operating in the opposite way to that which I’m used to.  I can see the benefit of doing it the Trek’s way as using the longer ‘push’ shift to go to a higher gear enables you to move up either one or two gears, which is more beneficial than the ability to skip a gear when changing down.  To further confuse me the numbering is reversed too so gear 1 is the smallest cog on the rear and 8 is the largest.  No matter, I’ll get used to it.
 
I’ve covered 26 miles since picking up the bike on saturday.  I clocked 38mph, admittedly downhill, travelling down Agecroft Road from the A666 on saturday evening.  My legs weren’t spinning too frantically which suggests I could top 40 if I tried harder.  Seems to be geared slightly higher than the Claude Butler and being a smaller bike it feels much quicker because I’m closer to the road.  It’s a 17.5" frame and I’ve got to be more careful that I put my toes on the pedals because if they overhang too far they can catch the front wheel when I’m turning the handlebars.  I’ve fitted some old semi toeclips to guide my feet into a better position, who knows I might be able to go even faster!  
 
I timed my ride home for the first time tonight and it was just under 30 minutes without giving it absolutely everything.  My ride in takes about 25 minutes, I think my record is just over 23 minutes.  I’ll see if I can break that this week although I’ll definately need all 5 sets of lights working in my favour to do it
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

