Happy National bike week

Happy National Bike Week!  You did know it was national bike week didn’t you?  It runs from today through to Sunday 22nd and there’s quite a lot going on in and around Manchester to celebrate it but more of that in posts later this week….
 
Today the big news in our household is that I picked up my new Trek 7.3 from the Bicycle Doctor which I had purchased through the work’s cycle to work scheme.  It took just over 6 weeks from submitting my quote into ‘the system’ to the voucher arriving this morning.  With the prolonged wait it really did feel like Christmas had arrived and I was giddy with excitement.  The Claude Butler seemed to have lost a few teeth off the front crank recently meaning that your legs could spin round when pushing off in a high gear from the lights.  A frightening state of affairs which had caught me out a few times over the last month so I’m glad to see the back of it (more info about its disposal in a later blog).  The Trek is smaller, shorter, lighter and much more nimble as a result.  I don’t intend to travel any quicker than I already do so I expect to benefit from a more efficient and relaxed ride to work and even more so on the more taxing journey home. 
 
I missed the opening of bike week and in fact had an opportunity to play a gig with the Manchester School of Samba to celebrate the start of the week’s events in Manchester (trying laughable to become Britain’s greenest city).  I had ducked out because I’m playing tomorrow at the Prestwich Carnival.  As I drove through town to pick up my bike and was caught in traffic by the Cathedral, I wound the windows down and could hear the band playing.
 
With talk of the Manchester Congestion charge in the air I’m looking to conduct an experiment where I travel to work by a different mode of transport on each day of the week and I’ll try to compart their costs and relative benefits.  You can guess which mode of tranport is going to win though.
 
Might go for a quick spin tonight, better just put the kids to bed first though……
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

