Cycling woes continue but hopefully not for much longer

It was the turn of my Claude Butler to go for repair this week.  I was giving it a rare oiling and clean up on Tuesday when I noticed the rear wheel wasn’t running true.  On closer inspection there were a couple of grooves cut into the rim of the rear wheel and I was probably only days away from the wheel completely collapsing.  It was 3 years old and had done over 4,000 miles so I don’t consider it unreasonable to fail, particularly with the way I have neglected to clean the rims and brake blocks regularly.
 
I took it over to the Bicycle Doctor who had it fixed within a couple of hours.  Whilst in the shop I took the plunge and ordered the Trek 7.3 FX I’d been eyeing up for a few months.  They gave me a quote for the bike plus a few other bits and then back at the office I filled in a form on-line through the CycleScheme portal for Sage employees.  An hour later I had a mail from our head office confirming that the request had been forwarded by them onto Cyclescheme and now I have about a month’s wait until I’ll be issued with a voucher for the bike.  I can’t wait!
 
trek73fx   
 
   
 
 
 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

