Cycling rant

I’m a bit hacked off with cycling at the moment, which is strange because the weather’s been good over the last couple of weeks. 
 
Someone nearly knocked me off this morning; they were going to cut across me to make a left turn from Oldfield Road into the Regent’s Road retail park, not to do any shopping like, but to dodge a short queue of traffic at the lights.  He though better of it and stopped along side me but I already had my hands on the brakes ready to pull hard if necessary.  His change of mind and sudden braking pissed off the car behind him, who I’m pretty sure buzzed me a moment latter for being the potential cause of him having an accident because he was driving too closely behind a fellow arsehole driver.
 
A couple of days ago someone gave me fingers for braking in front of him when I thought he was going to pull out from a T junction.  He saw me at the last minute but because I knew he hadn’t seen me I looked at him to catch his eye ASAP and got abuse in return.  His F off was countered by mine (though I wish I could learn to bellow it instead of always going squeeky) and I turned and started riding after him before my senses returned and I realised I would probably meet this arsehole daily.  He was big (and fat) and his poxy Fiesta was riding low with the weight of at least one other big fat mate.  It feels like an accident is immenent.  And don’t get me started on the rules around box junctions – they obviously don’t apply in Salford – I’ve lost count of the number of times the lights have changed and I’ve had to take my life in my hands and weave through traffic parked across my path wondering if any of them are suddenly going to lurch forward.  All car drivers are tossers just like all cyclists jump lights, ride on the pavement and take the wing mirrors off cars in queuing traffic.
 
Oh and my heap of shit Carrera Subway 8 won’t go above 4th gear anymore.  I fell off it a few weeks back on that really windy day and for some inexplicable reason dropping the bike broke the gears.  So all those people hitting my blog because they are searching on the Halford Carrera Subway 8 with the wonderous Shimano Nexus 8 hub don’t bother with it.  I’m back riding high on the shopper-esque Claude Butler Legend and thinking about a purchase though the Cycle To Work scheme but whatever I buy I HAS to be trouble free and low maintenance.
 
Rant over – good night! 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cycling rant

  1. Robert says:

    You should try pogo-sticking to work – it’s a bloody nightmare.

  2. Jorge says:

    Sorry to hear about your car/traffic near misses – sorrier still about your Carrera bike… the concept looks good enough.  Perhaps a visit to the bike shop will bring it back to top form?  Cheers, jorge

  3. Nigel says:

    Thanks Jorge, I’m taking it back to Halford tomorrow and if it can’t be fixed I’m planning to leave it at work for my colleagues to use around the Quays at lunchtimes, you can still squeeze 15 mph out of it.   Maybe you could take it out for a spin Rob?

Leave a Reply

