Running and cycling

As I suspected my legs ached a couple of days after my first run last week, but as intended I managed a second run early on Sunday morning.  I ran to Heaton Park and was rewarded with a colourful sunrise set against clear skies and frosty ground.  I borrowed Catriona’s ipod which had her regular exercise soundtrack but it didn’t help pace my run.  It’s raining men, Tragedy, Old before I die and The Dove’s ‘Pounding’ all have good strong beats but designed for someone running at another pace.  The only time it worked for me was when the Arctic Monkey’s ‘I bet you look good on the dancefloor’ popped up for the last 30 seconds before I reached my destination.  I charged up to "The Temple" which is claimed to be the highest point in Manchester, at a pace which was clearly unsustainable and then stopped to stretch, gather my breath and admire the view before trotting ack home.   I was happy with my 30 minutes run though towards the end I was starting to wonder how I ever managed a marathon 8 years ago, next weekend I’d like to cover a bit more ground and move with a bit more rhythm – I’ll have to work out my own soundtrack before then.    
 
The Temple
 
My bike froze up yesterday on the way to work.  I was climbing up through the gears as I moved along Bury New Road at about 20 mph and was in 7th (out of 8) when the internal Shimano 8 hub gears stuck and as I approached the junction with Hilton Lane twisting back down through the gears did not have the desired effect.  I survived the remaining 5.5 miles of the journey in that high gear although I didn’t feel so safe at a couple of junctions where I would have liked to have accelerated a bit more quickly.   I’m not sure there is anything I can do to prevent this happening so I’ll just limit myself to 5th or 6th gear on cold days.  By lunchtime the gears were working properly again and I didn’t have any problem on the way home.  That was my first commute of the year without lights which was something to celebrate.
 
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

