Doctor Doctor

After spending much of the weekend arsing around with my rear bike wheel and turning it somewhat oval I gave in and handed it over to the professionals at Rusholme’s Bicycle Doctor.  Within a few hours I returned to pick up a fabulously circular wheel with lots of beautifully tight spokes.  I then struggled to fit the thing and although it went into position nicely and no longer fouled the mudguard, on reconnecting the cables to the in-hub brakes and gears a horrible grinding noise occurred on back pedaling.  I took it off and put it back on again a few times but to no avail.  The bike was designed to be "maintenance free" ie leave it to a mechanic on the rare occasion it goes wrong, and I accept that with the mileage I do it needs to be serviced regularly, but you should be able to remove and replace a wheel without all hell breaking loose.  I had deliberately put heavy duty tyres on it to avoid removing the wheels at all but the wheel truing attempt had lead me to disturb things.  With hindsight (and if I knew it would cost so little) I should have taken the whole bike to the Bicycle Doctor to have the wheel trued.  The grinding was due to the drum brake being partially locked and a 2nd visit to the Doctor in 3 days resolved the problem
 
At the end of the day I have to be a little forgiving of the Carrera Subway 8 as when it works it’s very good.  I rode my old spare bike earlier in the week as a friend who had borrowed it for a month returned just as it was needed.  This made me appreciate the Subway 8 more.  The Claude Butler has 24 gears but the 8 on the Subway 8 give sufficient range and are spaced wider so I am less likely to jump through gears.  Even when that occurs, jumping 2 or 3 gears with the Nexus 8 mechanism is easier and more reliable than stepping through several gears on the CB using indexed shifters.  The riding position is better on the Subway 8 and without the unnecessary front and rear suspension the handling and manoeuvrability is much better.
 
I was looking wistfully at a Trek 7.3 in the Bicycle Doctor as maybe the bike I should have bought instead of the Subway 8.  It’s much lighter, no doubt better built and with better components on it costing £350 against the £280 I spent on my Subway.  However to get a commuting Trek bike with the Nexus 8 hub would cost double that and really at £280 the Subway 8 was a snip.  I should have budgeted £100 to upgrade tyres and wheels and to have the "maintenance free" bike serviced.  In all honesty for the mileage I have done, and will do, I should have spent over £500 on a bike.
About holmesinho

Happily married father of 2 living in Prestwich 5 miles north of Manchester, England. I cycle most days though mostly commuting and also enjoy running and triathlon.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doctor Doctor

  1. Jorge says:

    It sounds very frustrating.  I have had my wheel repaired a few times at The Bicycle Boutique.  The shop is situated in a small shop next to the Sugden Sports Centre. Contact Paul Flannigan on 07985 426 803.   In my case, soldiering on with a broken spoke compounded the problem and creating a chain reaction, I reckon: for every spoke they repaired, another one would go within a few weeks.  In the end they explained they couldn’t true the wheel properly anymore, and offered me a new wheel – I got it, and have not had that problem for a while.
     
     

Leave a Reply

